The Faber-Castell Castle

 

The Faber-Castell Castle is located in Stein, Germany. It was first built by Baron Lothar von Faber in the 1840’s and subsequently in 1898 after Baroness Ottilie von Faber married Count Alexander zu Castell-Rudenhausen, the couple built a prestigious residence next to the Altes Schloss (Old Castle) that had been built by Baron Lothar.

 

The new and grand castle was constructed in just three years under the supervision of Theodor von Kramer, head of the Bavarian planning department and director of the trade museum. The castles, the conservatory, the chapel and cloister are grouped around a rectangular courtyard. The bell tower – symbolizing the town of Stein - links the two castles. The romantic and breathtaking façade only serves to be a glimpse into the elegance within.

 
The three floors of the castle provide a fascinating contrast between historicism and art nouveau. Several rooms, of great interest to art historians, were designed by Bruno Paul, a well-known interior designer. Other rooms are like a historical pageant; an interpretation of various past styles.
 
 

There is a reception room in French classical style, renaissance libraries, a large entrance hall containing typical romanesque elements and a gothic ballroom, all within a single residence. The top floor houses the large festive hall where numerous balls and receptions were held for guests drawn from the nobility and the world of politics and business.

 

As luck would have it, the castle remained largely unscathed during the two world wars and now offers an authentic glimpse into the lifestyle of a bygone era. However, the Faber-Castell family has not lived there since the outbreak of war in 1939. During the war, part of the castle was requisitioned by the German armed forces.

 
 
From April 1945 it was involved in an important part of post-war history. At first occupied by Allied troops, it was then used to house international lawyers and journalists during the Nuremberg trials of war criminals. After the trials, the castle served as an American officers' mess and club house until 1953.
 
 
Then it stood empty for over 30 years: the Faber-Castell family had little interest in making it their home. However, following nearly three years of inventory work, the public was able to view the interior in 1986 as part of the company's 225th anniversary year celebrations. An extensive exhibition told the story of the company, the family and the castle. In the same year, the four-part television series "Fathers and Sons" was broadcast, which had been filmed mainly in the castle with major international actors.
 
For some years now, the Faber-Castell castle has again been used for a variety of cultural events and meetings with representatives of trade and commerce. The latest addition has been art courses of FABER-CASTELL Artists' Academy, which take place in the attic storey.
 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Click here for a Virtual Tour